CECAM - ESF Workshop
Stochasticity and Sensitivity
May 5 - 7, 2003 • Lyon, France

Centre Européen de Calcul Atomique et Moléculaire
(European Centre for Atomic and Molecular Computations)
(European Science Foundation)
Workshop Location:
Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, 46,
Allée d'Italie,
69364 Lyon CEDEX 07 - FRANCE (Map)
Direction to Lyon,    Hotels
Christian Van den Broeck
email: christian.vandenbroeck@luc.ac.be
phone: 32 11 268214
Ryoichi Kawai
email: kawai@uab.edu
phone: 1-205-934-3931

Workshop Pictures


The main purpose of the meeting will be to broaden our scope of vision on phenomena in which noise amplifies or is amplified in or through dynamical processes. While critical opalescence, stochastic resonance and Brownian motors are well known examples of this interplay, we would like to focus during this meeting on less known or less discussed problems. We cite a few examples: giant diffusion in tilted periodic potentials, numerical noise amplification, hypersensitive response, nonequilibrium fluctuation theorem.


Speakers(*) and participants (Click speaker's name for title/abstract.)

Ioana Bena* Universite de Geneve (Switzerland) bena@amorgos.unige.ch
Bart Cleuren Limburgs Universitair Centrum (Belgium) bart.cleuren@luc.ac.be
Michel Droz* Universite de Geneve (Switzerland) Michel.Droz@physics.unige.ch
Ralf Eichhorn* Universität Bielefeld (Germany) eichhorn@physik.uni-bielefeld.de
Brian Geislinger University of Alabama at Birmingham (USA) bgeisl@phy.uab.edu
Chris Jarzynski* Los Alamos National Laboratories (USA) chrisj@lanl.gov
Ryoichi Kawai University of Alabama at Birmingham (USA) kawai@uab.edu
Dilip K. Kondepudi* Wake Forest University (USA) dilip@wfu.edu
Katja. Lindenberg* University of California, San Diego (USA) klindenberg@ucsd.edu
Santiago Cuesta Lopez University of Zaragoza (Spain) santiago.cuesta@unizar.es
Dmitri G. Luchinskii* Lancaster University (UK) d.luchinsky@lancaster.ac.uk
Fabio Marchesoni* University of Camerino (Italy) fabio.marchesoni@pg.infn.it
Manuel Morillo* Universidad de Sevilla (Spain) morillo@us.es
Catherine Nicolis* Universite Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium)  
Grégoire Nicolis* Universite Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium) gnicolis@ulb.ac.be
Johan Paulsson* Princeton University(USA) paulsson@molbio.Princeton.EDU
Michel Peyrard* Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon (France) Michel.Peyrard@ens-lyon.fr
Arkady Pikovsky* Universität Potsdam (Germany) pikovsky@stat.physik.uni-potsdam.de
Harald Posch* University of Vienna (Austria) posch@lsws.exp.univie.ac.at
Mark A. Pustovoit* Petersburg B. P. Kostantinov Nuclear Physics Institute (Russia) markp@mail.pnpi.sbp.ru
Peter Reimann* Universität Bielefeld (Germany) preimann@physik.uni-bielefeld.de
Stefania Residori* Institut Non-Lineaire de Nice (France) Stefania.Residori@inln.cnrs.fr
Francesc Sagues Universitat de Barcelona (Spain) f.sagues@qf.ub.es
Lutz Schimansky-Geier* Humboldt University at Berlin (Germany) alsg@physik.hu-berlin.de
Peter Talkner* Universität Augsburg (Germany) Peter.Talkner@Physik.Uni-Augsburg.DE
Christian Van den Broeck Limburgs Universitair Centrum (Belgium) christian.vandenbroeck@luc.ac.be